PCA Eligibility Requirement Changes

Currently, in order to be eligible for Personal Care Assistance (PCA), the state of Minnesota requires that the person receiving care is either dependent on one Activity of Daily Living (ADL) or that the person exhibits what is called Level 1 behavior. Dependency on an ADL now requires hands-on physical assistance to complete the task or cuing and constant supervision to complete the task. ADLs include the following:

  • Grooming
  • Dressing
  • Bathing Transferring
  • Mobility
  • Positioning
  • Eating
  • Toileting

Level 1 Behavior is behavior that requires the immediate response of another person, has occurred in the last 12 months, and involves at least one of the following:

  • Physical aggression towards self
  • Physical aggression towards others
  • Destruction of property

Starting July 1, 2011, Minnesota will require a person to be dependent on two ADLs in order to receive PCA services. According to the PACER Center, the state is expected to reassess all recipients of PCA services between January 1 and June 30, 2011, except for those who receive PCA services through a waiver program or the Alternative Care Program.